Ads Area

TAARIFA KWA UMMA, TCU: List Of University Institutions Links


TCU Background and Core Functions

The Tanzania Commission for Universities (TCU) is a body corporate established on the 1st July 2005, under the Universities Act 2005 (Chapter 346 of the Laws of Tanzania) with mandate to recognise, approve, register and accredit Universities operating in Tanzania, and local or foreign University level programmes being offered by registered higher education institutions. It also coordinates the proper functioning of all university institutions in Tanzania so as to foster a harmonised higher education system in the country.

The Tanzania Commission for Universities succeeded the former Higher Education Accreditation Council (HEAC) which was established in 1995 under the Education Act 1995 with a legal mandate to regulate the establishment and subsequent accreditation of private university institutions in the country. Being limited only to private universities, such mandate was considered unfavourable for the promotion of a viable public-private partnership in higher education as stipulated in the National Higher Education Policy of 1999.

Therefore, such circumstances prompted the government to establish a harmonized higher education system in the country which led into the establishment of the Tanzania Commission for Universities. In order to ensure such a harmonious higher education system does not compromise institutional peculiarities and autonomy, each University has the legal right to operate under its own charter.

The mandates and core functions of the Commission are provided under section 5(1) of the Universities Act Cap. 346. These functions can be clustered into the following three major areas.

Here are the list of Tanzania Universities with their website:-

SnName of InstitutionAccronym    Website
1Abdulrahman Al-Sumait
2Aga Khan
4Catholic University of Health and Allied
5Hubert Kairuki Memorial
6The International Medical and Technological UniversutyIMTU
7Kampala International University in
8Mbeya University of Science and
9Moshi Co-operative
10Mount Meru
11Muhimbili University of Health and Allied
12Muslim University of
13Mwalimu Julius K. Nyerere University of Agriculture and
14Mwenge Catholic
16Nelson Mandela African Institution of Science and TechnologyNM-AIST
17Open University of
18Ruaha Catholic
19Sebastian Kolowa Memorial
20Sokoine University of
21St. Augustine University of
22St. John's University of
23St. Joseph University in
24State University of
25Teofilo Kisanji
26Tumaini University
27Tumaini University Dar es Salaam
28The united African University of
29University of
30University of
31University of Dar es
32University of DodomaUDOM
33University of


Join Our New Telegram Group For Jobs, Education, Scholarships and All Updates,  CLICK HERE

Post a Comment

* Please Don't Spam Here. All the Comments are Reviewed by Admin.

Top Post Ad

Below Post Ad